Every year, in the months of June, July and August, communities come together to honor the spirits of their ancestors with joyous celebrations.

Obon is a Japanese Buddhist custom.  It's origin dates back more than 500 years. 
The dates of the Obon dances are important since according to Japanese lore, June - August is when ancestor spirits return to visit family and friends.

Various local hongwanjis invite everyone to come join this tradition of celebrating the lives of those who have come before.
Don't worry if you don't know the dances most are easy to learn!

  

JUNE

Saturday, June 1: Obon in the Gardens in Lili‘uokalani Gardens, 10 am – 2 pm

Saturday, June 8: Keauhou Shopping Center (Kona Hongwanji), 6 – 10 pm, 808-323-2993

Saturday, June 15 : Honomu Henjoji Mission, 7 – 10:30 pm, 808-963-6308

Saturday, June 22:  Papaikou Hongwanji, 7:00 pm, 808-964-1640 

Saturday, June 29: Honomū Hongwanji, 7:00 pm, 808-963-6302

 

JULY

Friday, July 5: Puna Hongwanji, 7:30 pm, 808-966-9981 

Saturday, July 6: Puna Hongwanji, 7:30 pm, 808-966-9981

Saturday, July 6: Kohala Honwanji Mission, 7:00 pm, 808-775-7532

Saturday, July 13: Daifukuji Soto Mission, 808-322-3524

Saturday, July 13: Kohala Jodo Mission, 7:00 pm, 808-889-5456

Saturday, July 13: Hilo Meishoin, 7:00 pm, 808-935-6996

Saturday, July 13: Paauilo Hongwanji, 7:30 pm, 808-775-7232

Friday, July 19: Honpa Hongwanji Hilo Betsuin, Sangha Hall, 7:00 pm, 808-961-6677

Saturday, July 20: Honpa Hongwanji Hilo Betsuin, Sangha Halln, 7:00 pm, 808-961-6677

Saturday, July 20: Kona (Keei) Hongwanji, 7:00 pm, 808-323-2993

Saturday, July 27: Hilo Hooganji Mission, 7:30 pm, 808-935-8331

Saturday, July 27: Kona (Keei) Hongwanji, 7:00 pm, 808-323-2993

Saturday, July 27: Papaaloa Hongwanji, 6 pm following 5 pm service, 808-962-6340

 

AUGUST

Saturday, August 3: Hāwi Jodo Mission, 6 pm following 5:30 pm (775-0965)

Saturday, August 3: Kurtistown Jodo Mission, 7:00 pm following service (966-9777)

Saturday, August 3: Paʻauilo Koganji Mission, 7:00 pm

Saturday, August 3: Hilo Taishoji Soto Mission, 7–10 pm (935-8407)

Saturday, August 10: Hāmākua Jodo Mission, 7:00 pm following 6 pm service, 808-889-5456

Saturday, August 10: Hilo Higashi Hongwanji, 6:30 pm, 808-935-8968

Saturday, August 10: Kona Koyasan Daishiji Mission, 7:00 pm, 808-324-1741

Saturday, August 17: Hakalau Jodo Mission, 7:00 pm, 808-966-9777

Saturday, August 17: Pāhala Hongwanji Mission, 5 pm, 808-928-8254

Sunday, August 18: Pahoa YBA Kaikan, 808-966-9981

Saturday, August 24: Kamuela Hongwanji, 7:00 pm following 5:30 pm service, 808-775-7232

Saturday, August 31: Honohina Hongwanji Mission, 7:00 pm following 6 pm service, 808-963-6032